LYRICAL FOOTNOTES



US Presidents

This song contains information about US Presidents. Each century is coded in a different musical key, expressed through the sound of keyboard synthesizers. The names of two-term Presidents have an echo. The political party of each President is marked with a distinctive sound accent (only associations with the Democratic and Republican parties are coded). There are also markers for economic extremes of boom or bust. More musical clues may be added in the DLP version (Digital Learning Project).

Table of US Presidents is on next 2 pages. Due to its length, the table has been split into 2 parts for easy viewing & printing.

Songwriters-Lance Fialkoff & Gary Levitt; Beat, Keyboard & Vocals-Gary Levitt~Young Love Studio, New Paltz, NY © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Musical Media for Education (MME)

LYRICAL FOOTNOTES



President/# of Terms/Century	Political Party
George Washington, 1789-1797	unaffiliated
John Adams, 1797-1801	Federalist
Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809	Democratic-Republican
James Madison, 1809-1817	Democratic-Republican
John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829	Democratic-Republican
Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837	Democratic
Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841	Democratic
William Henry Harrison, 1841	Whig
John Tyler, 1841-1845	Whig
James K. Polk, 1845-1849	Democratic
Zachary Taylor, 1849-1850	Whig
Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853	Whig
Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857	Democratic
James Buchanan, 1857-1861	Democratic
Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865	Republican
Andrew Johnson, 1865-1869	National Union/Democratic
Ulysses Grant, 1869-1877	Republican
Rutherford B. Hayes, 1877-1881	Republican
James Garfield, 1881	Republican
Chester Arthur, 1881-1885	Republican
Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889	Democratic
Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893	Republican

LYRICAL FOOTNOTES



President/# of Terms/Century	Political Party
Grover Cleveland, 1893-1897	Democratic
William McKinley, 1897-1901	Republican
Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909	Republican
William Howard Taft, 1909-1913	Republican
Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921	Democratic
Warren Harding, 1921-1923	Republican
Calvin Coolidge, 1923-1929	Republican
Herbert Hoover, 1929-1933	Republican
Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1933-1945	Democratic
Harry Truman, 1945-1953	Democratic
Dwight Eisenhower 1953-1961	Republican
John F. Kennedy, 1961-1963	Democratic
Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1963-1969	Democratic
Richard Nixon, 1969-1974	Republican
Gerald Ford, 1974-1977	Republican
Jimmy Carter 1977-1981	Democratic
Ronald Reagan, 1981-1989	Republican
George Bush, 1989-1993	Republican
Bill Clinton, 1993-2001	Democratic
George W. Bush, 2001-2008	Republican
Barack Obama 2008-2016	Democratic
Donald Trump 2017	Republican